The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Books
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 02-13-2002, 09:43 AM   #1
Araen
Haunting Spirit

Araen has just left Hobbiton.
Question The prefix Ara

Okay it clearly states in the appendix that after a certain king of Gondor that every heir would have Ara at the beging of his name..... 'twasn't so with Aragorn's son. Why? Don't kill me I am a bing newbie......
"Where is the horse and the rider, where is the horn that was blowing, they have passed like rain on the mountains, like wind in the meadow, the days are damned in the west? behind the hills? there are shadows... "
Araen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2002, 09:54 AM   #2
Mithadan
Spirit of Mist

Mithadan is a guest at the Prancing Pony.Mithadan is a guest at the Prancing Pony.
Sting

Welcome to the Barrow-Downs. Rest assured, we do not kill, shoot, or flame newbies here. I may be wrong on this but I believe that in naming his son, Aragorn returned to the old tradition of selecting names for kings in Quenya rather than Sindarin (or Adunaic in the case of Numenor). Thus Aragorn's formal name as King of Gondor was Telecontar (Strider).
Old 02-13-2002, 04:33 PM   #3
Aralaithiel
Ghost Eldaran Queen

Aralaithiel has just left Hobbiton.
No Mithadan, I believe you are correct. Now another thing to go look up! The quest of remembering where I read things, and how I comprehended them! [img]smilies/smile.gif[/img]
Hey newbie...welcome aboard! You'll find us very friendly here!
Old 02-16-2002, 01:37 PM   #4
Starbreeze
Ghost of a Smile

Starbreeze has just left Hobbiton.
Send a message via AIM to Starbreeze
Silmaril

I didn't notice that bit - me being ignorant yet again - got to read on that!

To write is to make dreams, to make dreams is to awaken the fantasy of the mind, to awaken the mind is to be a master.