The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > Novices and Newcomers
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 10-16-2004, 09:45 AM   #1
turgon
Haunting Spirit

turgon has just left Hobbiton.
Silmaril the pride of feanor

HEy! awesome sight. I'm new to the sight. but a lifelong resident of middle-earth.
Heres a question. Had Feanor relented and broke the silmarils For the healing of the trees.Would this have doomed the coming of man? My thinking Is this would have stalled the Noldorins urge to chase Melkor, therefore man would be left without the help of the high elves. The dark one in my opinion would have twisted all of humanity to the very last before the valar would give thought.
turgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 11:52 AM   #2
Eomer of the Rohirrim
Auspicious Wraith

Eomer of the Rohirrim is a guest at the Prancing Pony.Eomer of the Rohirrim is a guest at the Prancing Pony.
Boots

That's an interesting thought turgon (welcome to the Downs by the way ). I get the feeling that mankind may have fallen further and faster, but didn't they need the aid of the Valar in the end regardless? As for Feanor, I think there was not too much of a risk of him ever breaking his lovely jewels.

Last edited by Eomer of the Rohirrim; 10-16-2004 at 11:53 AM. Reason: To add to the illusion of my intelligence.
Eomer of the Rohirrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 12:16 PM   #3
turgon
Haunting Spirit

Thanks for the welcome Eomer