The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/index.php)
-   Novices and Newcomers (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Celebrian Who? (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/showthread.php?t=3451)

Elwen_starmaiden 09-03-2003 11:49 AM

Celebrian Who?

What I think is odd is that I never knew Celebrian's name until I read the Silmarillion, she's just Arwen's mother, or the daughter of Celeborn and Galadriel, Elrond's wife. I just thought that since she's the daughter of such a high couple, then marries another important person, you'd think she'd be mentioned more often. Yes I'm a newbie and I've only read as much as LOTR and the Silmarillion would tell me, so I'm curious as to what the more educated peoples have to say. What happened to Celebrian?

Mithadan 09-03-2003 12:05 PM

Celebrian was seized by Orcs in the Redhorn pass while en route to Lorien to visit her parents. She was freed by her sons, Elladan and Elrohir, in a great act of valor. However, her torment and injuries at the hands of the Orcs made her weary of Middle Earth and, after a year, she passed into the West. The sum total of this tale appears in less than a paragraph in the Appendices to LoTR in section "A". There is also an entry in The Tale of Years regarding her capture during the Third Age.

Estelyn Telcontar 09-03-2003 12:26 PM

This is a good question that will interest other newcomers too, I'm sure. I'm moving the thread to the Novices and Newcomers forum, in hopes that it will find many readers there!

Legolas 09-03-2003 12:35 PM

Fame by association doesn't always bring an important character's spouse/family members into the main stories (being the stories of the First Age and the War of the Ring).